Woman’s Rape Echoes the Parable of the Good Samaritan

Media_httpuploadwikim_fzfqn

Image via Wikipedia

Below is an excerpt detailing the woman’s desperate plea for help. Contrast her tale with what Jesus said in the parable of the Good Samaritan (Luke 10:25-37).

toledoblade.com: Teen held in West Toledo rape; witnesses didn’t stop, intervene

A 26-year-old woman who was raped in broad daylight on a West Toledo street spoke out yesterday, saying that the 15-year-old boy charged with the crime should be tried as an adult. [30 And Jesus answering, said: A certain man went down from Jerusalem to Jericho and fell among robbers, who also stripped him and having wounded him went away, leaving him half dead.]

Yelling for help
She yelled for help during the attack and said she noticed at least two cars drive by without stopping. [31 And it chanced, that a certain priest went down the same way: and seeing him, passed by.]

After the assailant fled, she asked a pedestrian talking on his cell phone if she could use the phone to call for help.

He kept walking, she said. [32 In like manner also a Levite, when he was near the place and saw him, passed by. This is where the similarity ends.]

“I’m ticked off because people were doing nothing. Just driving by. What kind of humans are we becoming?” she said. [She asks a very pertinent question. In this culture of death where an unborn child is worthless, how typical is the treatment she received from those walking and driving by?]

Calls about the incident indicated that the witnesses were unsure if the public act was consensual, though officers were dispatched to a “rape in progress,” Sergeant Harris said. [This is another disturbing comment. Have we become so decadent in this society that we would even be willing to accept consensual acts of sex in public? I would say that most people’s initial reaction was one of concern for the victim than fear for themselves and ultimately a lack of wanting to get involved. But let us recall John 15:13, “Greater love than this no man hath, that a man lay down his life for his friends,” and compare it to what Christ is saying to the lawyer who prompted the parable by asking in Luke 10:29 “And who is my neighbor?”]

The teen did not know the victim and the assault was not premeditated, Sergeant Harris said.

“The urge came over him to attack her, and he said he did,” Sergeant Harris said. “It was a crime of opportunity.” [At Mass yesterday and even in Fr. Al Lauer’s reflection on the daily readings, the priests spoke of the pervasiveness of sin: material, sensual and spiritual (money, sex and power). The act of rape fits at least two of these. However, consider the words of the Sergeant, “the urge.” It is not that the devil makes you do anything, he cannot because he simply does not have that type of power – he is only a creature. What the devil can do, with his angelic intellect, is find your key weakness and present temptations which are more likely to cause you to reject God by choosing sin, thus potentially joining him in eternity. ]

The assailant took the victim’s cell phone and fled before emergency crews responded to the witnesses’ 911 calls.

The victim was taken to Toledo Hospital.

This is an example of the sad sate we find ourselves in. This culture of promoting death under the guise of choice has allowed us to accept violent acts and refuse help to those we know need it.

A couple of years ago I witnessed a stabbing. I was sitting several floors up in my office and conversing on the telephone when I noticed some commotion from the corner of my eye. When I went up to the window I saw some men chasing another. One extended his hand and caused the victim to fall, clutching his abdomen. Blood spewed from the wound and the man staggered to a bus stop several feet away. No one offered assistance. No one did anything.

I immediately called 911 and emergency personnel were immediately there. Now I am certain I was not the only one to call 911 but I was the first (one of only four) witness to come forward and speak to the police. I went to them because I knew it was the right thing to do. My time running with the wrong crowd taught me that this was no innocent victim. But I was in the midst of returning Home and knew that if God loved this man, why shouldn’t I? If I were the victim, wouldn’t I want someone to witness on my behalf or to at least offer assistance?

After that act I was rebuked and chastised by many for being a snitch. I took a page from Jesus’ book and called them out as hypocrites. Reminding them that we do not even own our lives. And that if my actions were met with retribution by the attackers that I must trust in Christ to turn that evil into good.

Ultimately, the victim was attacked due to a dispute that originated from the time he spent with the attacker in a halfway house for convicts. The attacker was caught and convicted in a plea (I did testify against him). And the victim, I am not sure what happened to him. I only pray that he made his way to a closer relationship with Our Lord.

What would you have done?

Leave a Reply

