Anti-Catholic Leaflet Stirs Holy War in Tennessee Town

Media_httpsharingmyfo_hdfoc

A Baptist pastor in Tennessee says he now regrets that his
church
distributed an anti-Catholic leaflet that a local Catholic priest
decried as “hate material.”

Pastor Jonathan Hatcher, who leads Conner Heights Baptist
Church in Pigeon Forge, Tenn., has removed
the inflammatory leaflet, “The Death Cookie,”
from his
congregation. He says he will no longer distribute it.

“Looking back, I don’t
think it was the right tract to give out,” Hatcher told FoxNews.com. “I
have some others that wouldn’t have been as offensive. But I will
continue to spread the gospel — that’s what I’m called by Christ to do.
I’m still going to hand out tracts, but not ‘The Death Cookie.’” [Well I think I will pray for his
conversion. Sometimes these types of things occur so that a person is
humbled in order to be raised up. We could have another person joining
the ranks of Tim Staples, Scott Hahn and Marcus Grodi.]

The
illustrated leaflet, distributed since 1988 by California-based Chick
Publications
[Check out this Catholic
Answers

Special
Report “
Chick Tracts: Their Origin and Refutation“],
features an
ominous character with a snake around his neck who advises a man that
he can control the world by establishing a false religion based upon
worshipping a cookie. Upon taking the control of the cookie, the man
becomes the “papa” — a reference to the pope.

“The creation
of the wafer god was the greatest religious
con job in world history,”
the leaflet
reads. “ … This religious weapon is one of the most powerful idols ever
created by man.”

“It says the
devil has made a pact with the pope to take
over the world through a false god,” Father Jay Flaherty
,
who heads
nearby Holy Cross Catholic Church, told FoxNews.com.

Flaherty said the
leaflet attacks the Catholic tradition of
the Eucharist
, or communion, and he’s afraid the document could
lead to
violence in Pigeon Forge
, a small town of 5,000.

“Basically, what they’re
saying is our Eucharist is of the
devil, that Catholicism is not of the Christian church,” Flaherty said.

Hatcher said
the leaflet is an “attractive comic book,”
but
he acknowledged that its
message is perhaps a “little too blunt” in its
critique of Catholicism. [Blunt
is not the word I would use. It is completely falsity.]

“I don’t
believe in attacking somebody’s church,” [Really?]

he said.
“I believe they have a right to practice what they want, just as I have
the right to practice what I want.”

Flaherty said he’s concerned that the leaflet could incite a
troubled neighbor to harm one of his worshippers.

“It’s a very dangerous world we live in,” the priest said.
“But you can’t argue
with ignorance, it’s not worth it.”

Flaherty learned that the
material was being circulated when
a young parishioner brought it into his church last week, after she
said she received it in high school.

‘She was very upset,” he said. “But I don’t understand the
[pamphlet’s] reasoning — it has nothing to do with scripture. It’s
anti-Catholic; it’s just hate material.
It has nothing to
do with
theological discussion. ‘You better get out and get saved’ is basically
what it says.”

Pigeon Forge High School Principal Perry Schrandt, who could
not be reached for comment, told The Mountain Press that school
officials do not condone the pamphlet.

Flaherty said he had considered contacting authorities about
the publication and distribution of “The Death Cookie,” but he has
reconsidered.

“I pray for him,” Flaherty
said of Hatcher. “That’s all you
can do.”

Jack Chick, publisher of Chick Publications, was not
available for comment early Friday. According to a biography on the
company’s Web
site
, Chick has written and published hundreds of
illustrated gospel tracts that have been read by “hundreds of millions”
worldwide.

According to the Web site,
Jack Chick first realized in the
mid-1970s that Roman Catholicism was unscriptural.

“After much prayer,” the site reads, “he made the decision
that, no matter what it cost him personally, he would publish the truth
that Roman Catholicism is not Christian. He did it because he loves
Catholics and wants them to be saved through faith in Jesus, not
trusting in religious liturgy and sacraments.”

Other tracts produced by Chick includes materials on Islam,
Jehovah’s Witnesses, Masonry and “Creation/Evolution.” The site claims
it’s not being “intolerant,” but rather compassionate with its critical
literature.

“We are
unwilling to lie to them
and say that all gods are
real, when we know this is not true,” the site reads. ” … To do
anything else would be dishonest.”

For his part, Hatcher said the leaflet has become a
distraction to his 40 or so active members. Distributing the pamphlet
was intended to “share the differences” between Baptists and Catholics,
he said. [The series What Protestants and Catholics
Can Learn from Each Other
is probably a better
way to go.]

“Obviously we don’t believe alike, or else we’d be going to
the same church,” he said. “But people try to make it out like we’re
crusaders. I thank God for America, because we can all practice what we
believe. We don’t spread
the gospel out of hate; we spread it because
we love people.”

Hatcher reiterated that “The Death Cookie” will no longer be
available at his church. He simply wants the small town controversy to
go away.

“It’s like a sore,” he
said. “The more you pick at it, the
longer it’s going to take to heal.”

via myfoxphilly.com

The Chick tracts are anti-Catholic hate propaganda. People use these
types of attacks when their message holds no substance. Read Jimmy
Akin’s book The
Nightmare World of Jack T. Chick
for more
information about these tracts.

As far as denying the True Presence of Christ in the Eucharist, I will
let Jesus clear it up for you:

John 6:32-70 (Keep in mind
that John’s Gospel was written well into the first century and was
addressed to Christians.)
32 Then Jesus said to them: Amen,
amen I say to you; Moses gave you not bread from heaven, but
my Father giveth you
the true bread from heaven.

33 For the bread of
God is that which cometh down from heaven, and giveth life to the world.

34 They said therefore unto him: Lord,
give us always this bread.

35 And Jesus said to them: I am the bread of life:
he that cometh to me shall not hunger: and he that believeth in me
shall never thirst.

36 But I said unto you, that you
also have seen me, and you believe not.

37 All that the Father giveth
to me shall come to me; and him that cometh to me, I will not cast out.

38 Because I
came down from heaven
,
not to do my own will, but the will of him that sent me. 

39 Now this is the will of the
Father who sent me: that of all that he hath given me, I should lose
nothing; but should raise it up again in the last day.

40 And this is the will of my
Father that sent me: that every one who seeth the Son, and believeth in
him, may have life everlasting, and I will raise him up in the last day.

41 The Jews therefore
murmured at him, because he had said: I am the living bread
which came down from heaven.

42 And they said: Is not this Jesus, the son of Joseph, whose father
and mother we know? How
then saith he, I came down from heaven?

43 Jesus therefore answered, and said to them: Murmur not among yourselves.

44 No man can come to me, except
the Father, who hath sent me, draw him; and I will raise him up in the
last day.

45 It is written in the
prophets: And they shall all be taught of God. Every one that hath
heard of the Father, and hath learned, cometh to me.

46 Not that any man hath
seen the Father; but he who is of God, he hath seen the Father.

47 Amen, amen I say unto you: He that believeth in
me, hath everlasting life.

48 I
am the bread of life.

49 Your
fathers did eat manna in the desert, and are dead.
   

50 This
is the bread which cometh down from heaven; that if any man eat of it,
he may not die. 
  

51 I
am the living bread which came down from heaven. 
  

52 If
any man eat of this bread, he shall live for ever; and the bread that I
will give, is my flesh, for the life of the world.

53 The Jews therefore
strove among themselves, saying: How can this man give us
his flesh to eat?
   

54 Then Jesus said to them: Amen,
amen I say unto you:
Except
you eat the flesh of the Son of man, and drink his blood, you shall not
have life in you.

55 He
that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, hath everlasting life
: and I will raise him up in the last
day.

56 For
my flesh is meat indeed: and my blood is drink indeed.

57 He
that eateth my flesh, and drinketh my blood, abideth in me, and I in
him.

58 As the living Father hath
sent me, and I live by the Father;
so
he that eateth me, the same also shall live by me.

60 These things he said, teaching in the synagogue, in Capharnaum.
61 Many therefore of his
disciples, hearing it, said: This saying is hard, and who can hear it?

62 But Jesus, knowing in himself, that his disciples murmured at this,
said to them: Doth this
scandalize you?

63 If then you shall see the Son of man ascend up where he was before?
64 It is the spirit that quickeneth: the flesh profiteth nothing. The words that I have spoken to
you, are spirit and life.

65 But there are some of you that believe not. For Jesus knew from the
beginning, who they were that did not believe
, and who he
was, that would betray him.
66 And he said: Therefore did I
say to you, that no man can come to me, unless it be given him by my
Father.

67 After this many of
his disciples went back; and walked no more with him.

68 Then Jesus said to the twelve: Will
you also go away?

69 And Simon Peter
answered him: Lord,
to whom shall we go? thou hast the words of eternal life.

70 And we have believed
and have known, that thou art the Christ, the Son of God.

Yeah, it seems pretty self explanatory to me too. Christ says that he
is the Bread of Life (references included) 8 times, says the we must
eat His flesh and drink His blood 6 times, and does not explain this in
any other fashion when the murmuring begins. In fact, Jesus makes a
stronger statement and leaves it at that.

So how do we eat the flesh and drink the blood of Christ without it
being cannibalism? We do so through the miracle and mystery of
consecration that occurs everyday at Mass (Malachi 1:11). Jesus himself
performed the first Mass during the Last Supper and St. Paul details
the same words said throughout the Church today and warns against
sinning against the Body and Blood of Christ. Why would he do that if
Christ was not present vis-a-vis John 6?

Media_httpwwwstroseof_ihgrf

Matthew
26:26-28
26 And whilst they were at supper, Jesus
took bread, and blessed, and broke
: and gave to his
disciples, and said: Take
ye, and eat. This
is my body
.

27 And taking the
chalice, he gave thanks
, and gave to them, saying: Drink ye all of this.
28 For this is my blood
of the new testament, which shall be shed for many unto remission of
sins.

Mark 14:22-24
22 And whilst they were eating, Jesus took bread; and blessing, broke,
and gave to them, and said: Take
ye. This
is my body.

23 And having taken the chalice, giving thanks, he gave it to them. And
they all drank of it.
24 And he said to them: This is my blood
of the new testament, which shall be shed for many.

Luke 22:19-20
19 And taking bread, he gave thanks, and brake; and gave to them,
saying: This
is my body
, which is given for you. Do this for a commemoration of me.

20 In like manner the chalice also, after he had supped, saying: This
is the chalice, the
new testament in my blood
, which shall be
shed for you.

1 Corinthians 11:23-29
23 For I have received of the
Lord
that which also I delivered unto you
,
that the Lord Jesus, the
same night in which he was betrayed, took bread.

24 And giving thanks,
broke, and said
: Take ye, and eat: this is my body,
which shall be delivered for you: this
do for the commemoration of me.

25 In like manner also
the chalice, after he had supped
, saying: This
chalice is the new testament in my blood
: this do ye, as
often as you shall drink,
for the commemoration of me
.
26 For as often as you
shall eat this bread, and drink the chalice, you shall shew the death
of the Lord, until he come.

27 Therefore whosoever
shall eat this bread, or drink the chalice of the Lord unworthily, shall be
guilty of the body and of the blood of the Lord
.
28 But let a man prove
himself: and so let him eat of that bread, and drink of the chalice.

29 For he that eateth
and drinketh unworthily, eateth
and drinketh judgment to himself
, not discerning the body
of the Lord.

One thought on “Anti-Catholic Leaflet Stirs Holy War in Tennessee Town

  1. That pastor should not have backed down. I wouldnt. Those tracts are right on. catholics hate them cause they expose the poverty of catholic teaching. Just like the CC stears its flock away from reading the bible. The bible is like one big Chick Tract

Leave a Reply

