…my spirit rejoices in God my Savior (Luke 1, 47)

Media_httptrustinjesu_zaksb

Many are familiar with Post Secret. I consider it to be a secularist’s confessional for the Web 2.0 era because many of the “secrets” that are sent to the blog seem to come from persons who seemingly feel the void of God’s love in their life. I know that I am generalizing and I could be way off base but I think there is a strong argument for my POV on this blog. Because of it anonymity it performs a good service for many.

Anyway, today I was scrolling through the submitted postcards and found the one displayed above. As someone who is opposed to abortion, this confession of sorts moved me. It spoke to me on so many levels.

For one, it demonstrates the power of life and the love that is contained in this miraculous gift from God. My thought is the person who sent the card is a woman but it could have very well been a man. It makes no difference. This person is affirming the fact that the selfless love a parent gives to their child is redeeming and salvific for them spiritually as much as it is for the child physically.

I recall my wife’s three pregnancies. The first ended in miscarriage and we lamented of the person we did not get to meet. The second was a mixture of fear and joy as we witnessed this tiny human grow and develop from a mere flash on an ultrasound to a talkative and engaging 4-year-old. And the third, well, there was some concern due to an early arrival but the soft voice coupled with a strong, spunky personality makes want to beam with joy.

All three of my children have, in part, helped me in my journey of salvation. Were it not for them in my life, I could not fully comprehend the love God has for us all and why the Father sent the Son to die on the Calvary for me – for us – and in departing, the Son sent His Love and that of the Father to be with us. The Holy Spirit, who is God, resides in us.

That is love. That is true parental love. And that is how children save the lives of their parents. They spark that divine love within the adult soul, which is indeed contrary to the selfishness of this world because it is the selflessness of True Love.

One other note. This postcard also gave me cause to reflect on the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin. How you my ask? Simple. Jesus saved His mother’s life before her conception as Mary was conceived without the stain of Original Sin. So in her Magnificat, Mary sings the praises of her salvation in Luke 1, 46-49:

And Mary said, “My soul magnifies the Lord,
     and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior,
     for he has regarded the low estate of his handmaiden. For behold, henceforth all generations will call me blessed;
     for he who is mighty has done great things for me, and holy is his name.”

Leave a Reply

