I Fall To My Knees

Media_httpuploadwikim_ekjui
Image via Wikipedia

I Fall To My Knees (A Reflection on Eucharistic Adoration)

In the True Presence of Christ, I fall to my knees.

I am humbled to be so near Him in the form of the Eucharist.

A feeling of peace and joy comes over me.

I start to pray in earnest because our Lord hears our prayers.

I offer Him my sincerest gratitude for the many blessings in my life.

I ask His forgiveness for the sins I have committed.

I promise our Lord that I will go to Reconciliation soon.

I unburden myself to Him and share all of my stress and anxiety as He asked us to in the Gospel.

I pray for others-family, friends, co-workers and anyone who is struggling or suffering.

I pray for the Church, the Holy Father and our Bishops, Priests and Deacons.

I pray for our country and for our leaders to have moral courage and wisdom.

I pray for a world that will respect all life.

I pray that the Lord will make me a channel for His will today and every day.

Then I stop praying and I listen.I listen for His voice.

Maybe He will speak to me through the friend I will encounter that day or possibly in the meditation or scripture passage I am reading.

I go to Eucharistic Adoration out of love and devotion and my passionate belief that this prayer time before the Blessed Sacrament is the catalyst for my ongoing renewal and conversion.

Go and spend time with Jesus today…He is waiting for you.

via I Fall To My Knees | The Integrated Catholic Life.

I found this beautiful reflection on Adoration while perusing my blog subscriptions. Many do not understand the mystery of the Eucharist and it’s importance and centrality in Christian worship.

i attribute this to the divisions caused by Protestants, many of whom act just like the disciples and persons who questioned Our Blessed Lord in John 6 when He gives His discourse concerning Him being the “Bread from Heaven” or the Bread of Life. In this chapter Jesus makes it abundantly clear that one must eat His flesh and drink His blood in order to have Eternal Life.

The Blessed Sacrament is the way in which we receive Our Lord Who humbles Himself daily to nourish us through physical communion with Him. In this form, we are gifted with His Real, True Presence and we can visit Him. In fact, He waits for us atop many alters in many parishes all over the world. This is a supreme act of faith and devotion, an action that is performed out of the gifts He gives and through which many graces (gifts) can be received.

Adoration of the Blessed Sacrament stretches far back into the Church’s history and is indeed a special and even life-changing experience. Wouldn’t kneeling before Our Blessed Lord always be?

Leave a Reply

